Close Search
Close Search


Newbery Medal

John Newbery MedalThe Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Medal Award

Caldecot Medal Award

About the Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually b the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguisthed American picture book for children.

Young Hoosier Book Award Program

Young Hoosier Book Award Image

This year all of the TSC Elementary Schools will participate in the state-wide Young Hoosier Program. This program has three different levels; Picture Book, Intermediate, and Middle Grades. Elementary schools will read the title from the Picture Book and Middle Grades. Every elementary student, who completes the program, will be able to vote for their favorite book and be a part of awarding the Young Hoosier Award for 2017-18.

Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

This is given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. , and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Look below to see how many books or words your school has read this year!