# TIPPECANOE SCHOOL CORPORATION MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

Tippecanoe School Corporation 21 Elston Rd Lafayette, IN 47909 Wed, September 09, 2020, 7:30 p.m.

# To Be Approved

#### A. October 14, 2020

A regular meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Tippecanoe School Corporation was held at Tippecanoe School Corporation, 21 Elston Rd, Lafayette, Indiana 47909-2899, on September 9, 2020. President Hein called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

Members shown to be present or absent are as follows:

Present: Absent:

Jacob Burton Steve Chidalek Linda Day Brian DeFreese Patrick Hein Joshua Loggins Jane Smith

Also in attendance were Dr. Scott Hanback, Superintendent; Mr. Kirk Booe, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Instruction; Dr. Christy Fraley, Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Instruction; Mr. Doug Allison, Assistant Superintendent for Personnel; Mrs. Amanda Brackett, Chief Financial Officer; and Mr. Mark DeYoung, Corporation Counsel. There were approximately 30 persons in attendance, representing administrators, Board members, media, and patrons.

Dr. Hein invited the audience and board to join him in the saying of the Pledge of Allegiance.

# **Public Participation**

## A. Highlights

Harrison High School principal, Mr. Cory Marshall, introduced Haiven Gipson. Gipson is a junior at Harrison High School. She earned an IHSAA State Championship in gymnastics, vault, in March 2020.

148.20

Mr. Marshall spoke to the board about the Harrison Advanced Placement Scholars. He introduced Harrison High School senior Lynlee Rice, senior Orion Freed, and senior Jackson Rookstool. The students highlighted the school's successes in Advanced Placement courses and testing.

149.20

#### **B. Patron Comments**

Mrs. Brackett presented the 2021 budget for review. Since this was a public hearing the floor was opened for public comments. There were none. The 2021 budget will be presented for approval at the October 14, 2020 board meeting.

Appendix 9-A 150.20

Mrs. Brackett presented for approval the Resolution to Reduce 2020 Budget Appropriations. Mrs. Day moved the Resolution to Reduce 2020 Budget Appropriations be approved as presented. Mr. Chidalek seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-B 151.20\*

Mrs. Brackett presented for approval the Resolution to Transfer Amounts from Education Fund to the Operations Fund. Mr. DeFreese moved the Resolution to Transfer Amounts from Education Fund to the Operations Fund be approved as presented. Mrs. Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-C 152.20\*

Mrs. Brackett presented the 2021-2023 Capital Project Plan. Since this was a public hearing, the floor was opened for public comments. There were none. Mrs. Brackett presented the Resolution to Adopt the 2021-2023 Capital Projects Plan for approval. Mrs. Day moved the Resolution to Adopt the 2021-2023 Capital Projects Plan be approved as presented. Mr.

Mrs. Brackett presented the 2021-2032 Bus Replacement Plan. Since this was a public hearing, the floor was opened for public comments. There were none. Mrs. Brackett presented the Resolution to Adopt the 2021-2032 Bus Replacement Plan for approval. Mrs. Day moved the Resolution to Adopt the 2021-2032 Bus Replacement Plan be approved as presented. Mr. Loggins seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-E 154.20\*

## THE CONSENT AGENDA

## A. Approval of the Minutes

The minutes of the August 12, 2020 Board of School Trustees Regular Meeting were submitted for approval.

Appendix 9-F 155.20\*

## **B. Superintendent's Report**

Dr. Hanback presented the Superintendent's Report.

Appendix 9-G 156.20\*

#### C. Financial Report

Mrs. Brackett presented the Accounts Payable Register for August 13, 2020, through September 9, 2020, in the amount of \$9,962,008.33.

Appendix 9-H 157.20

Mrs. Brackett presented the Financial Report ending August 31, 2020.

Appendix 9-I 158.20

#### **D. Instruction Report**

Mr. Booe presented the August 2020 Staff Development Report for review.

Appendix 9-J 159.20

#### E. Personnel Report

Mr. Allison presented the Certified Teaching Staff, Support Staff, ECA and Addendum reports for approval.

Appendix 9-K 160.20

## F. Buildings and Grounds

None.

#### **G. Board Counsel Report**

None.

#### **H. Board Committees**

None.

## I. Corporation Goals Report

None.

## J. Consent Agenda Approval

Mrs. Day moved the Board approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Mrs. Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

## **BUSINESS**

#### A. Old Business

Dr. Hanback recommended the board approve the NEOLA Policy Updates presented and discussed at the August 12, 2020 board meeting. Mr. DeFreese moved the NEOLA Policy Updates be approved as presented. Mrs. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-L 161.20\*

## **B. New Business**

Mrs. Brackett requested permission to bid for fifteen (15) busses as part of the 2021 Bus Replacement Plan. Mrs. Smith moved the board grant permission to bid for fifteen (15) buses as part of the 2021 Bus Replacement Plan. Mrs. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-M 162.20\*

Mr. DeYoung recommended the board approve the Authorizing Resolution for Sale of Property and Closing for Walkway to Tippecanoe County Board of Commissioners. Mr. DeFreese moved the recommendation be approved as presented. Mr. Chidalek seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-N 163.20\*

Mr. Allison presented a Memorandum of Understanding due to two changes to the collective bargaining agreement due to the COVID-19 pandemic for approval. Mrs. Day moved the Memorandum of Understanding be approved as presented. Mr. Chidalek seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Appendix 9-O 164.20\*

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

#### A. Information

The next Regular Board Work Session will be October 14, 2020 beginning at 4:00 pm at TSC Central Office. The next Regular Board Meeting will be October 14, 2020 beginning at 7:30 pm at TSC Central Office.

## **ADJOURMENT**

There being no further business,	the meeting was adjourned at 8:13 pm.	
Patrick Hein, President	Linda Day, Vice President	Jane Smith, Secretary *Approval required by Board